On becoming an accidental blogger

I hadn’t really intended to start blogging, but when I put this very modest site online TML urged me to think about taking up blogging. Then Jim added me to his blogroll and Joel mentioned it. It all reminded me of this great scene from Steinbeck’s Cannery Row:

The Greek, big apron, sleeves rolled up, was frying pork chops in two big skillets, turning them over with an ice pick. “Hello, Kits. How is going things?” The pork chops hissed and swished in the pan.

“I don’t know, Lou,” said William. “Sometimes I think the best thing to do would be — kluck!” He drew his finger across his throat.

The Greek laid the ice pick on the stove and rolled his sleeves higher. “I tell you what I hear, Kits,” he said. “I hear like the fella talks about it don’t never do it.” William’s hand went out for the ice pick and he held it easily in his hand. His eyes looked deeply into the Greek’s dark eyes and he saw disbelief and amusement and then as he stared the Greek’s eyes grew troubled and then worried. And William saw the change, saw first how the Greek knew he could do it and then the Greek knew he would do it. As soon as he saw that in the Greek’s eyes William knew he had to do it. He was sad because now it seemed silly. His hand rose and the ice pick snapped into his heart. It was amazing how easily it went in.

So, to be melodramatic: this is me inserting the ice pick into the heart. Of course I should warn that I don’t intend to rise to the level of a proper blogger. But I hope to post the occasional thought or review, and to learn from my interlocutors. Here goes nothing.

  1. #1 by ejoelwatts on January 4, 2013 - 1:26 pm

    An occasional blog pos of quality is better than 95% of the steady tripe poured out by far too many 😉

    • #2 by davidlincicum on January 4, 2013 - 1:32 pm

      Thanks, Joel. But what about an occasional blog post of tripe?

      • #3 by ejoelwatts on January 4, 2013 - 1:34 pm

        Please, look up (shhhh) David Tee…. Anything, even a horribly garbled piece written after 30 hours of coffee is better than his dailies. 😉

Leave a Reply

